Daily Archives: August 25, 2011

.xiem & backpain

XIEM STUDIO
iHeart Xiem studio for it’s big open space, cleanliness and efficiency. Looking to become a member but on a wait list. In the meantime I’ll just take classes. In the end it somewhat evens out with the Berman studio because firing is included with class. I know it cost to run a kiln etc, but seriously sometimes I feel that I’m getting ripped a new one at Berman’s. I think I benefit the most from Echo just for firing but it’s just too far for me. I guess each studio has it’s perks and drawbacks. Just trying to figure out what’s the best and cost effective direction to go in.
So last nights first class was fun. The instructors name is Jim. He’s quite laid back. I thought there might be as many as 10 students but there was just 3. Our goal for the night was to throw off the hump or as Jim calls it the “mound”. I’m not big on this unless I know I am throwing repeat shapes. In all it does save time. He was teaching us how to properly take them off the mound. I couldn’t get a hang out it because I think my head was elsewhere too. I threw a few small pieces and at the end of the night I really should have just re wedged the clay. I really didn’t have any plans for the shapes etc so yeah, TOTALLY wasted there. I might go over there tonight just to wedge the clay. By the way their wheels ROCK and their wedging table is nice and clean and stable too.

BACK PAIN
All I gotta say is that I’m stoopid for not stretching enough or getting up often when I throw. Last week it was the inner back part of my legs that were super sore. I didn’t know how to massage the pain away but eventually it went away. Last night I sat too long hunches over and this morning I woke up barely able to walk. Been trying to stretch the pain our all day. Think I’ll lay on the rolling pin for a bit when I get home. Did that last night, holy moley was I in pain. Pain shot down right to my leg. Yes I have sciatica. Hasn’t been this bad in 4 years.